Rainbow Springs State Park – Florida

Rainbow Springs State ParkOur family adventure this week took us to Rainbow Springs State Park near Dunnellon, FL.  Florida is not known for it’s waterfalls and unfortunately these are “man-made” falls. However, it was a great opportunity to be outside and try to get some fun shots. This capture was made with my 16-35mm f/4 VR and B+W 1000x ND filter. It was a 69 second exposure at f/13 in the middle of the day. If you don’t own a good ND filter it is worth the investment. There were so many people struggling to photograph the falls today. (Mid-day light and a hand-held camera just will not do if you’re trying to make the water “flow”.) However, with a sturdy tripod, a good ND filter, and a little patience, you’ll be surprised at just what kind of image you can manage even in mid-day lighting.

40 thoughts on “Rainbow Springs State Park – Florida

  1. I am 24 miles ( or there abouts) from Rainbow River State Park. One of my oldest and closest friends lives outside of Dunnellon towards Inglis just off 40, I believe.. Small world. But I am a native Floridian. I see a lot of your travels take you to places and near people I know well. Sweet. Living the dream indeed. 🙂 I love photography. And Florida has a lot of inspiration. Thank for stopping by my blog.

  2. I definitely hear you on how challenged we are here in Florida as regards things like cliffs and waterfalls!! The only time I tried to blur a waterfall was on a visit to Guam…see how far I had to go!! LOL!! I made a fake cliff one time early on in learning photoshop. It was a cut made into sand by some rushing water. Laid on my stomach and angled the camera so the wall of sand looked rather cliff-like. Took out a parking garage in the scene and inserted a nice sky and voila …a Florida cliff!! Silly but was fun!!

    I wanted to say thanks for stopping by my site recently and to let you know that your banner picture is beautiful. Is it in Georgia or is it a Florida scene? Could be FLA.

  3. Someone else posted a comment describing the falls as “silky”. Silky is the perfect adjective to describe the way the falls look in this gorgeous image! This is a beautiful shot. Thank you for sharing it.

  4. Nice shot. I am still learning much. Once I get the money together, I am going to start traveling to get beauties like this!

  5. Thank you for a ‘like’ on my blog. I am not a ‘photographer’ but I do know the passion of capturing the moment. I am glad you stopped by as now I can enjoy you great work.

  6. Pingback: JB the Explorer’s Fall Classic | Scuppernong Springs Nature Trail

  7. Thanks for visiting my blog, Toby. Love your photography, wouldn’t like to send some water to North Cyprus, would you, as it’s very dry here, we get about 2 months when it rains but not that much. I never realised how much I loved photography until I looked back at all the photos I’d taken over the years, funny how you don’t see what’s right under your nose. Take care.

  8. Nothing as exciting as the first time you capture water flowing like this. Except for maybe car lights or stars streaking. And you explain it so easily. Great shot, too!

Leave a comment