Falls on Dodd Creek – Georgia

Falls on Dodd Creek-Toby Gant-2014I have hiked the trail to Raven Cliff Falls in Georgia once previously. At the time it was late in the day and it was more or less a race to reach the falls before the sun had set. On that trek, I passed incredible scenery along the way that I could not stop to appreciate and capture with my camera. With that said, it has been on my list for quite some time to visit the trail again to attempt to capture Dodd Creek.

The trailhead is located on Richard Russell Scenic Highway in White County, Georgia near Helen in the Chattahoochee National Forest. I have walked many trails in this part of the country and this trail is particularly beautiful. It is also very, very busy. Anyone seeking solitude should visit on a weekday. The trail is teaming with hikers, campers and adventure seekers most weekends.

To get this particular capture I had to leave the main trail. I was able to ford the creek to the far side to get closer to the falls. But, to get this angle on the falls, I had to remove my shoes and socks and roll my pants up to my thighs and wade across the creek back to the other side. The water was very cold even this late into summer. But, I was able to get my shot and I am very pleased. I captured this image using my 24-70mm f/2.8, tripod mounted and using a circular polarizer. You can see this image and more of my gallery images on my site at http://www.tobygant.com/Gallery/. Thanks as always for visiting.

11 thoughts on “Falls on Dodd Creek – Georgia

Leave a Reply

