It’s Official…

Falls on Crow Creek-Toby GantIf there was any doubt, the spring season has arrived in northern Georgia. I’ve been spoiled during the winter months. With very little exception, I’ve been alone at most of the remote locations where I shoot. It is great when you don’t have to compete with others for real estate. It’s also a bit more serene shooting in solitude. Don’t take it the wrong way, I enjoy a pleasant conversation as much as the next guy. I’ve met many kind and considerate people with similar interests over the years. While I can say I find positives in both scenarios. I certainly do enjoy the winter months when it is usually just me and my camera.

I captured this image of the falls on Crow Creek near Lakemont, GA using my 50mm f/1.4 lens, tripod mounted and using a circular polarizer. I hope everyone had an opportunity to get out and enjoy the warmer weather. (I know for certain that many of you do did.  I was they guy competing with you for the only empty parking spot.) Thanks for stopping by.

27 thoughts on “It’s Official…

    • Thanks for the kind words, Hien. I couldn’t imagine all the snow you guys have had this year. Hang in there. I cannot imagine you’ll be more than a few weeks behind us. After the long cold winter, I think spring is especially beautiful this year.

  1. Beautiful composition! And I truly know what you mean, that it’s nice not to have to compete with anyone. But I’ll take the warmer weather anyday. Snow in our forecast. Your picture is beautiful and warm!

  2. You’re not alone in preferring the peace of solitude. I somehow feel rushed if there are others around. Beautiful photo too. I would not have thought to try a prime lens.

    • Thanks for the kind words, Johann. I agree with you that I tend to feel more rushed when others are around. Also, it can be a distraction when you are trying to soak in the scene and find the best composition. As far as the prime goes, I like to take them out for the challenge of it. (Zoom with my feet as some have said.) “They” also say the primes are sharper. But, I can’t say that I can see much of a difference from my modern zooms and my primes. Perhaps under extreme magnification. But, I really don’t see the fun in that.

      • The challenge sounds interesting; I should try carrying one with me. I agree there is little difference in quality nowadays, and it’s certainly not something that will make out break an image!

    • Thanks for the kind words. And I really like your blog. As far as my name. There are actually 3 “Toby Gant”s that live in the US. 2 of the 3 are somewhat infamous. I won’t say which they are. 🙂

      But more seriously, as far as me, I come from a large family and I’ve traveled the country and the world somewhat extensively. I have made good friends almost everywhere I’ve been. It’s very possible that you know a mutual friend.

  3. That’s a superb photo – well captured and beautiful colours 🙂

    I know Georgia a little as I went out with a guy from Columbus for a while so hopped over from England a few times to see him. Got to visit the usual places – Providence Canyon, Callaway Gardens and Pine Mountain – really like Providence…
    Carol.

Leave a Reply

