After Dark – Dicks Creek Falls – Georgia

Dicks Creek Falls After Dark-Toby GantShort on time but, not short on determination, I captured this image of Dicks Creek Falls near Cleveland, Georgia well after the sun had gone down behind the mountains. It was so dark that I was hardly able to see my hand in front of my face. The exposure was just over 2 minutes at f/16, ISO 800. ย Sure there is some digital noise to be found if you look at the image at 150%. But, to paraphrase pro photographer Rickย Sammon, if you are distracted by the noise in an image, it probably isn’t a very interesting image.

I captured this image using my 16-24 mm f/4, tripod mounted. (It was so dark that I actually removed the polarizer if you can believe that.) As always, thanks for stopping by.

30 thoughts on “After Dark – Dicks Creek Falls – Georgia

  1. Beautiful image Toby ๐Ÿ™‚ I would never imagine that it was so dark by looking at that photo. I thought it was probably just an overcast day. Very interesting…

  2. WOW!! It doesn’t only take a lot of determination to get such an image in the conditions you described, it takes also a lot of knowledge on what you’re doing and focus. It’s amazing, really. Congratulations in your execution ๐Ÿ™‚ And, thank you for stopping by my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m just loving the lush green and the beautiful falls. Not worrying about the noise at all. Snow in the forecast again today. This is a beautiful sight for sore eyes! Do you use a remote in such low light conditions? Or press the shutter yourself.

    • Linda, I always use a remote when I’m on tripod and shooting landscapes. I’m so paranoid (Yes, I said paranoid.) that I put the camera in the “Mup” mode to lock the mirror in the up position before I open the shutter with another thumb roll on my remote. I realize that it is insane to roll your thumb on the remote just as you would on the camera body. But, it’s honestly just a habit I can’t break. If camera shake were to ruin one of my captures it will be due to a stiff wind or an aggressive forest animal. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. That photo is mid-blowing! I am trying to get my head around a 2 minute exposure in almost pitch black and how you made such a fabulous picture. How could you even see what you were taking to frame it? This is photography on the edge. And all the more beautiful for it.-Karen.

    • Thanks, Karen. I had to focus using my trusty headlamp. I can’t say that shooting after dark is going to be the norm for me. But, I had fun with the challenges that were posed.

Leave a Reply

