The Importance of Color Management

Fruit-Toby GantI’ve been using a color calibrator for my monitor for years now. But, after recently upgrading my printer, I felt the need to upgrade to a system that would allow me to manage color precisely through my entire workflow. I want my colors to be as precise as possible and thanks to all the choices we have today, color management is now easy to do. My new calibrator along with the printer allows me to build custom profiles depending on what type of paper I print on. This saves tremendous time and resources (paper and ink). If you have not looked into any of these calibrators you should really go out and take a look. They have them to fit anyone’s budget and I think you’ll agree that it makes it much easier to express your vision on-screen or on paper.

I captured this image using my 50mm f/1.4, tripod mounted, using a Westcott 5 in 1 panel as a diffuser for the remote flash. As always, thanks for stopping by.

26 thoughts on “The Importance of Color Management

  1. First of all, gorgeous shot, so vibrant! Second of all, there are few feelings quite like the disappointment of seeing something outrageously fantastic and then attempting to capture it with a shoddy camera. I’m no photographer, so it doesn’t make sense for me to invest in a good piece of equipment, but I’m glad to have a word for what I want – color management means never showing someone a photo, having them tell you how beautiful it is, and then having to explain “Oh but it was actually so much better in real life.”

    Maybe some day 🙂

  2. Well, piffle. When I got my new computer last month, I spent about an hour messing with the monitor’s buttons and getting lost in the menus just to get the colors right. Thanks for the tip – next time, I’m doing it your way!

    • I’ve always used Spyder products in the past. But, after reading many reviews, I decided to go with the X-Rite ColorMunki Photo. So far I like it also. I like being able to manage the printer too. But, Spyder makes one that will do that also. In my experience they both make good products.

      • Speaking of which… which lens do you favor for macros? I appreciate its a personal thing but I’m curious as to what you like, cheers!

      • Personally, I love the Nikkor 105mm micro. Their 60mm is good. But, there is just something special about the Nikkor 105mm. Of course you are safe with any major manufacturer. Canon’s 100mm macro is a great lens also. I’m not sure if you’ve heard of pro photographer, Scott Bourne. But, he claims if he were ever on a deserted island and could only have one lens with him of all his lenses on any platform or make by any manufacturer. He would chose the Nikkor 105mm micro. I can’t say that I would disagree. It is an incredible lens. (Scott shoots with both Canon and Nikon equipment.)

      • Thank you so much Toby for your reply – I shall digest and research and see what the bank balance agrees too! Joanne

    • Good point, Bert. I know a few people that still do the same. Many of us have moved into the LCD/LED realm. I use a standalone monitor attached to my laptop. The latest monitors provide a far wider viewing angle than early LCD monitors. For example my Dell U2410 has a 178° viewing angle which should me more than adequate for most users. By using the standalone monitor I’m able to keep the same angle of view when at my desk. And for anyone out there that still uses a CRT like Bert, most calibrators work with both CRT and LCD/LED monitors. Thanks for the suggestion, Bert.

      • I got this crt advise from a producer for national tv — and indeed, they still need to be calibrated, although the tuning over the years is negligible. The colours far outstand compared to any low budget screens in the house. (BTW, the problem of the flatscreen lies in the spectrum of the backlight.)

  3. I keep looking at this and getting hungrier and hungrier. We can’t get such beautiful produce up where we are; I’m afraid I’ve drooled on my keyboard now. I’ve been looking over your recent posts and certainly enjoy them. They, too, are part of a world unlike mine. Thank you Toby for visiting Gwichyaa Zhee. Looking forward to visiting your sight often.

    • Thanks for the kind words, Dave. It looks like you are in a “Winter Wonderland”. Incredible images on your blog. It makes me feel like I am there. I’ll be following your work.

      • Thank you Toby. It is certainly a different kind of life on the Circle. We won’t see the ground until about May 1. Glad to have met you, and I’ll be checking out your blog as well.

  4. What fabulous photo! It is like having the fruit in the room. In fact it is more real than real fruit! Gosh, I so want to eat some fruit now.
    Thanks so much for visiting and liking some of my work on sweetbabyveg. I have only recently bought a DSLR Nikon and am very new to using different lenses. My first Micro is a Nikkor 40mm and although I am not disappointed with it yet, I imagine there will be a time when I need to step up again. For those of us who are not technically minded, the kind of information, discussion and dialogue which takes place on your blog is invaluable. Thank you-Karen.

      • Thank you so much for the compliment. All the photos up until now have been taken using a Canon Powershot. I like natural light, but that is because I do not know how to use flash!-Karen.

Leave a Reply

