Toccoa Falls – Georgia

Toccoa Falls-Toby GantWhile modern cameras and software provide us with tools to capture some wonderful images. There are certain situations you simply cannot work around. Yes, there is HDR. But, even then it still has it’s limitations. I found myself in such a situation yesterday. The sun was shining directly on the top of the falls and the cliff face as I was trying to capture Toccoa Falls. There are extra limitations here because you have to enter the falls through a gift shop whose hours are 9-5. This automatically places our friend the sun high in the sky. Which also means harsh and in some cases extreme lighting conditions. I will attempt this shoot again on a cloudy day at some point. It is a beautiful place and easily accessible. Regardless of the lighting, I had a wonderful time and I was able to walk away with a couple of interesting captures.

I captured this image using my 16-35mm f/4, tripod mounted, using a circular polarizer and a graduated ND. I hope everyone was able to get out over the weekend and get some captures of your own. I look forward to looking a them. Thanks for stopping by.

 

29 thoughts on “Toccoa Falls – Georgia

  1. Still a nice shot, but I understand how you feel. I never feel my photos sufficiently capture the beauty of nature or of the experience of discovering it firsthand. I enjoy your photos and look forward to seeing more.

    • Yes, I’ve actually created a HDR version of the full falls. It is much better than the original. But, I still hope to catch the falls in better light. I’m going for the “wow factor.”

  2. Hi Toby, despite your misgivings and constraints on optimal light, you’ve got a great image of the falls. I love the warm, lit boulders in the foreground, and their little echo on the cliff wall to the right. Also the repeated vertical element between the lone tree and the water. Thanks for your work – I’m enjoying your blog and finding inspiration.
    R/ Chris

Leave a Reply

