Dicks Creek Falls – Wide Angle

Dicks Creek Falls Wide-Toby GantAs promised in my early blog on Dicks Creek Falls – Georgia, here’s a wider view of the falls. You can actually see the falls from the roadside and there is parking available just across the roadway.

I personally prefer the perspective my original post of Dicks Creek Falls captures. But, I believe they both have their own merits. Feel free to let me know your thoughts.

I captured this image using my 24-70mm f/2.8, tripod mounted and using a circular polarizer. I hope you all find an opportunity to get out and explore this weekend. I’ll look forward to looking at your captures. As always, thanks for stopping by.

29 thoughts on “Dicks Creek Falls – Wide Angle

    • Thanks for the kind words as always, Alois. Your incredible images of snow on your blog has inspired me to try to find some snow this weekend. I guess I will have to drive north.

  1. I think we share the same tastes in photographic subject, i.e., nature’s beauty. The only difference is you take outstanding, well set professional photos, and I snap mine with a smartphone. Either way I enjoy them, keep up the great work! And thanks from stopping by from time to time at thoughtsalone.com 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words, Max. Your images are great. Remember that it’s not the camera but, the person that is standing behind it that captures the image. You have some great images on your blog. I look forward to seeing more.

  2. I also like the first photo better – I think it captures the force of the water and you’ve also captured more color. The blues in the water are gorgeous. But the first time I looked at that photo, it made me want to see the whole falls.

  3. I like the smoothness of the area between falls. Really good control of DOF. I might prefer the colors a little punchier (more contrast). Also, a little step to the right might have aided the composition, but honestly I love the way the front falls off the entire front of the image. Seriously though, nice capture. I would like to see more from this location!

    • David, you obviously know your stuff. Even though I will push color a bit (to more accurately represent what I see when I make a capture). In my heart of hearts I am mostly a photography purist. At the time I made this capture the sun was above the surrounding hills and the colors had fallen flat. I will be returning to get that particular perspective in the blue hour to allow me to get an honest saturated image. Thanks for visiting. I hope you have a great 2014.

      • I wouldn’t say I know my stuff, I just read a lot.

        I have a BS in Biology from Campbell University so I definitely have a love for nature photography. Also, my dad is from Dalton, Georgia. I have taken many trips to the mountains and through the gorge into Northern GA.

        Your ability to convey the feeling of a scene makes me wish I was out with you. One of my resolutions for this year is definitely to spend more time hiking and getting outdoors. I wouldn’t say that some of your photographs didn’t spur that.

        Currently I am updating my website. I’m ashamed to say it is taking me longer than I wanted. Once finished though, I hope you will check out some of my nature photography. The other stuff, I could honestly leave or take it. I’m not saying some of them aren’t very good, it’s just not my favorite. It does help pay for fun new equipment that I wouldn’t be able to otherwise afford though 🙂

        I look forward to following you throughout the year, and hope you have a great 2014 as well.

Leave a Reply

