Yellow Branch Falls – South Carolina

Yellow Branch Falls-Toby GantI had an incredible time exploring Yellow Branch Falls near Mountain Rest, South Carolina over the weekend. Others online have  suggested taking a wide-angle lens to shoot these falls. They are right. I used my 16-35mm on my FX body and wished for a moment that I had the 14-24mm.  The falls were much larger than I had expected that they would be. I had read that they were in excess of 40 feet in height. Most places  include any cascades leading to or beneath the falls in their calculations. To my best estimate, that is not the case here. The face of the falls itself appears to be almost 40′.

I captured this image using my 16-35mm f/4, tripod mounted and using a circular polarizer. I wish you and your families a very happy new year in 2014.

16 thoughts on “Yellow Branch Falls – South Carolina

  1. Toby — so glad I looked at your blog! These are great photos, and i love the effects that you have achieved. These are inspiring and magical images. Thanx so much for sharing, and for visiting my blog to introduce yourself.

  2. Hey Toby! I appreciate you popping over to my blog, and liking my post. You have some gorgeous captures in this space. Clearly you love being one with nature, as do I. Cheers and happy 2014! Margie

    • Thanks, Margie. Yes looking at your blog it is easy to see we are kindred spirits with our love for the outdoors. You have some incredible images on your site. I’ll be following your work. I hope you have a wonderful new year.

  3. Your image is beautiful, and even though a wider angle would have included more, I think your image captures enough to present the falls in a magnificent and inviting way. Thanks for sharing and for liking “Snow, Sleds, and Memories” 🙂

Leave a Reply

