Familiarization

Anna Ruby Falls-Toby Gant-0260

I have added new gear to my camera bag. Wanting to grow more familiar with my new equipment, I thought what would be better than shooting in a familiar environment. Especially one with an embarrassment of riches. I ended up at Anna Ruby Falls near Helen, Georgia. I had an incredible afternoon shooting.

I captured this image of the falls using my trusty 16-35mm f/4, tripod mounted and using a circular polarizer. Thanks for stopping by.

9 thoughts on “Familiarization

  1. I was hoping to see what you captured with the new lens when I clicked on this post. I love your keeping up with your waterfall photos! I live in North Carolina and wish I had the opportunity to get up to the mountains to try some of my own. Hopefully as the leaves start to turn I can make that happen. I admire the simplicity with which you display the beauty of each waterfall. It is not as easy as you make it look!

    Thanks for your Inspiration!

    David
    http://www.DavidAlexanderPhotography.net

    • David,

      Thanks for the kind words. I love your work. You’re very observant that the shot was not made with my new 24-70mm. However, it was captured with my new D800E. I’ve finally made the jump to a full-frame DSLR. (I’m loving every minute of it too.) Unfortunantely, as a result of the new additions I’m tortured by every second that I spend behind the monitor. I’d much rather be outside behind the glass. But, what can you do? If you have a second to check it out, the previous post http://tobygant.com/2013/07/desoto-falls-in-the-summer/) was captured using the 24-70mm. I already love the lens. It is tack sharp and extremely well-made. Some complain that it is a heavy lens. But, it feels just-right to me. I have a feeling that more and more it is going to be my go-to lens for my landscapes.

  2. Your work is an inspiration to me. I love taking pictures that involves use of a tripod and long exposures. You capture waterfalls remarkably well with that method. I am very impressed! Hopefully I will one day be able to take a photo as majestic as you have been able to capture.

    • Justin,

      Thanks for the kind words. I love your images of Germany! I have spent some time in Europe. But, have not made it there yet. Please keep publishing those images to let me see it vicariously through your lens. Incredible images!

  3. Amazing shot Toby, I’ve always struggled with waterfalls and you make it look easy. Excellent composition. Looks like you’re getting familiar with your equipment quickly. Nice work, and thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

