Upper DeSoto Falls – Georgia

Upper Desoto Falls - Toby Gant -2422

I got an early start this morning to visit the DeSoto Falls Recreation Area in the Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest near Blairsville, Georgia. I visited the lower falls in March of 2012. I made an attempt to visit the upper falls in October 2012. (See http://www.tobygant.com/2012/10/12/plan-b/) But, this morning I was far more successful.

This morning was uncharacteristically warm for this time of year. And there was a heavy fog hanging over the higher elevations of the Blue Ridge. This allowed me to shoot late into the morning. While some photographers try to avoid foggy conditions, I embrace it. Not only can you shoot later into the morning. But, colors are more saturated. And it also adds a “moody feeling” to your captures.

The upper falls are incredible. The hike is much longer than the hike to the lower falls. But, it has a slower grade and was far less strenuous. With near perfect weather conditions, I found myself at the falls alone for well over an hour before others started straggling up to the falls. I could not have asked for a more perfect outing.

This image was captured with my 16-35mm f/4. Please stop by and see my updated gallery at http://www.tobygant.com/tobys-gallery-images/.

Leave a Reply

