Winter Falls

Amicalola Falls - Toby Gant -1366-I found an opportunity to get out to Amicalola State Park near Dawsonville, GA today. There were heavy grey skies and light freezing rain that turned to snow when I reached the higher altitude. It was exhilarating. The weather kept away most other traffic and I had the falls to myself except for a single group that passed me by when they were returning to their car.

I’ve had this particular image in my head for almost a year. I have not been able to position my tripod low enough to get the proper angle. But, thanks to St. Nick and my new set of sticks, I was finally able to get my camera where it needed to be to get the shot.

I like many others have put any extra capital I might have lying around into camera bodies or lenses. But, after spending just a couple of days with my new tripod, I wish I’d made the investment years ago. I hate to think just how many shots I’ve missed over the years simply because of the limitations of my old “compromise” tripod. I’m happy to close that chapter and push the limits of my newest hardware.

Please share any thoughts you might have. And as always, thanks for stopping by. You can see more of my images at my gallery: http://www.tobygant.com/tobys-gallery-images/.

Leave a Reply

