Gurley Creek Falls – Georgia

Gurley Creek Falls - GeorgiaSome family members came up to spend the week at the Enota Mountain Retreat near Hiawassee, Georgia. With it being so close to home we went up to spend part of the day with them Saturday. I started looking online for some falls in the area that I had not visited. I planned to slip off for a couple of hours with my camera. My wife immediately said that there were falls at the retreat and I was sceptical about what I would find there. The falls were a short hike from the campground and I thought there couldn’t be any harm if it was a bust. So, I mounted my camera and trusty 16-35mm on my tripod and slung it over my shoulder. (I put my 50 mm in my pocket for good measure.) And we headed up the mountainside.

After a short and fairly steep hike we found the falls. Much to my surprise, the falls were impressive. The light was terrible in the mid-afternoon. But, most of the falls were in the shade. With some creative composition, I was able to get a couple of great shots.

This image was captured with my 16-35mm f/4, tripod mounted with a circular polarizer. Thanks as always for stopping by and feel free to leave your thoughts. You can see other gallery images on my site at http://tobygant.com.

 

Leave a Reply

