Sunrise Shoot at Amicalola Falls State Park – Georgia

Amicalola Falls SunriseI set my alarm for 4:30 AM last night. I had to take advantage of having a day off during the week. I made a tall cup of coffee and headed out to Amicalola Falls State Park near Dawsonville, GA. When I arrived at the park, I was heading to the trails when I noticed a Great Blue Heron catching his breakfast in the reflecting pool at the end of the falls. I spent almost a half hour with him. I went up the trail to the falls and was pleasantly surprised to find that everyone else had decided to sleep in. I enjoyed peace and solitude for almost 2 hours.

The light was perfect for shooting. Not only was I there for the magic hour but, the sky was covered in heavy clouds and I was able to shoot for almost 2 hours without any heavy shadows. It was like a giant soft-box. The colors were incredibly saturated and rich. I was able to snag a half-dozen gallery images. It was great to get back behind the glass.

This image was captured with my 16-35mm f/4, tripod mounted using a circular polarizer. Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave your thoughts. Feel free to follow my blog or view my gallery at http://tobygant.com.

Leave a Reply

