Minnehaha Falls, Georgia

Minnehaha FallsI was looking for a new adventure this weekend and did I ever find one. Minnehaha Falls are off the beaten path in rural Rabun County, GA. The only small glitch is that they are near a beautiful mountain lake and the roads are heavily travelled. Due to the short hike from the road to the falls and the proximity to the lake, the falls were incredibly busy. I was able to work around the crowd for the most part. But, when I revisit, it will certainly be on a weekday in the early, early morning. Even with all of the chaos, I was able to grab a couple of incredible gallery images.

The falls by themselves are simply stunning. In mid-summer there is brilliant color everywhere. I can only imagine what they will look like with fall foliage. I can’t wait to find out.

I captured this image with my 50mm f/1.4. I love the brilliant green of the moss along with the red from the high amounts of iron in the water and soil make for an interesting capture. Thanks as always for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

