Cityscapes at Night

Downtown Jacksonville, FL at NightAlthough my first choice is nature and landscape photography, I must say being captive in a city does present opportunities for creative photography. The cityscape at night brings challenges not faced while enjoying the outdoors. Mostly due to overzealous security guards and local police. Living in a post 911 world, you obviously must be a terrorist if you have camera and are photographing such things as bridges, buildings or traffic. I could go into more detail, but the stories would probably require a book instead of a blog. I first saw this image after being asked to leave a public parking garage by a security guard that he was calling local authorities. It took me multiple attempts before the stars aligned, weather conditions were right, and I was able to avoid the guard. I captured the exact image I had in my mind for weeks. The image was captured with my 10.5mm DX fisheye lens. You can see more of my night photography and cityscapes on my website at http://www.tobygant.com/cityscapes#h334e0abe.

One thought on “Cityscapes at Night

Leave a Reply

