Don’t shoot at the zoo?

There are many different schools of thoughts about photographing captive animals at your local zoo. The elites will tell you that it is “cheating.” And they say that as they are writing an article from their iPad in some remote, exotic, corner of the world. I, on the other hand, will not be traveling to Madagascar or Iceland anytime soon. It’s hard for me to break-away from my daily life to get to South Florida. Personally, I think you should shoot what speaks to you. There is beauty everywhere in the world around us. But, if you find yourself trapped in urban wherever and want to photograph exotic animals, I’ll see you at the zoo. I will say I believe it is important not to represent your images as something they are not. I am proud to disclose where I capture my images. Your local zoo actually presents many challenges that you will not encounter in the Outback or the Serengeti.

One thought on “Don’t shoot at the zoo?

Leave a Reply

